FoodReference.com Logo

Food Trivia & Food Facts Section

An eclectic collection of information about various foods and beverages,
plants and animals from around the world

Home       Food Articles       Food Trivia & Facts       Today in Food History       Recipes       Cooking Tips       Food Videos       Food Quotes       Who's Who       Food Trivia Quizzes       Crosswords       Food Poems       Cookbooks       Food Posters       Recipe Contests       Culinary Schools       Gourmet Tours       Food Festivals

You are here > Home

FOOD TRIVIA & FACTSFALCON to FINNAN >  Feta Cheese Facts

 

 

FOOD TRIVIA and FOOD FACTS

FALCON to FINNAN       Falcon Beans       Fannie Farmer       Farina       Farms & Farmers       Farmers Cheese       Fast Food       Fatback       Fatty Acids       Fats (Dietary)       Fava Beans       Favorite Foods       Feasts & Banquets       Fennel       Fenugreek       Feta Cheese Facts       Fettucine Alfredo       Fiber, Dietary Fiber       Fiddlehead Fern       Field Greens       Field Lettuce       5th Avenue Candy Bar       Fig Leaved Gourd       Fig Newtons       Figs       Filberts       File       Filet Mignon       Fingers       Finnan Haddie

 

 

 

FOOD VIDEO SECTION
Recipe Videos, Food Safety,
Food Science, Food Festivals, Vintage Commercials, etc.

See also: Feta Cheese Article

FETA CHEESE: Facts & Trivia

It is believed that the sheep's milk cheese that Polyphemus the Cyclops made in his caves in Homer's 'Odyssey' was most likely an early form of feta cheese.

Feta is traditionally made of sheep's or goat's milk, though today large commercial producers often make it with cow's milk.  The curdled milk (curdled with rennet) is separated and allowed to drain in a special mold or a cloth bag.  It is cut into large slices (feta means 'slice') that are salted and then packed in barrels filled with whey or brine.

Imported feta cheese is usually made with goat's or sheep's milk, as is the original Greek feta cheese.

Most people that are allergic to cow milk products or who are lactose intolerant can use goat and sheep milk products. The lactose or protein in the milk is what usually causes the allergic reaction or intolerance. Goat & sheep milk both have lactose and protein but it is of a different make up that doesn't bother most people. 
 

E-Mail 8/25/04
The proteins in cow's milk are huge, fit for an animal that will one day weigh in over 500 lbs. The proteins in humans, sheep, and goats, are very short, which is why babies (the infirm, and arthritics) will often thrive on goat's milk, and raw goat's milk also is loaded with the enzymes that enable the metabolizing of the calcium.
     The protein in almonds is more like the proteins in human breast milk of all the seeds and nuts, which is why it is the choice of the Canadian College of Naturopathic Medicine as the base for its baby formula.
Sylvia

 

 

Please feel free to link to any pages of FoodReference.com from your website.

For permission to use any of this content please E-mail: james@foodreference.com
All contents are copyright © 1990 - 2014 James T. Ehler and www.FoodReference.com unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved.

You may copy and use portions of this website for non-commercial, personal use only.
Any other use of these materials without prior written authorization is not very nice and violates the copyright.

Please take the time to request permission.

 

 

 

 

 

Also see: Food Articles  and Cooking Tips

 

Culinary Schools
& Cooking Classes

From Amateur & Basic Cooking Classes to Professional Chef Training - Over 1,000 schools & classes listed for all 50 States, Online & Worldwide