Logo (since 1999)
Food Articles, News & Features Section



Chef Stirring

 You are here > Home > Food Articles

OTHER INGREDIENTS >  Agar, agar-agar



More than 1,000 schools & classes in all 50 States, Online and Worldwide


Agar (agar-agar)


Food Additive - See also: Seaweed; Kelp

Agar-agar (now usually just 'agar') was originally a Malay word for a type of local seaweed.  Agar is a gelatin-like material extracted from seaweed (red algae, primarily Gelidium and Gracilaria)) by boiling, cooling and drying into flakes, long thin strips or cakes.  As a food additive it is rated as GRAS (Generally Recognized As Safe).  Its 'gel strength' is very resistant to heat. Agar gels at about 90° F and melts at 185° F.

Agar is also known as Bengal isinglass, Japanese gelatin, kanten, and Ceylon moss.

This additive is used as a texturizing agent, emulsifier, stabilizing agent  and thickener in ice cream, sherbets, jellies, soups, sauces, canned soups, and canned meat & fish. It is used as a clarifying agent in winemaking and brewing, to fill the pores in cloth and paper manufacturing ('sizing'), as a  medium for growing bacteria; in dentistry and cosmetics; film and adhesives. It  is prepared from several species of red algae (or seaweed). It is a vegetable gelatin, and is therefore used by vegetarians because true gelatin is made from calf's feet.




  Home   |   About Us & Contact Us   |   Chef James Bio   |   Bibliography   |   Recipe Contests   |   Free Magazines   |   Other Links  

Please feel free to link to any pages of from your website.
For permission to use any of this content please E-mail:
All contents are copyright © 1990 - 2016 James T. Ehler and unless otherwise noted.  All rights reserved.
You may copy and use portions of this website for non-commercial, personal use only.
Any other use of these materials without prior written authorization is not very nice and violates the copyright.
Please take the time to request permission.