(since 1999)


Cookbooks, Biographies & Memoirs; Food References, History & Science; Humor, etc.

 You are here > Home

COOKBOOKSFood Science Books >  Anticancer



From Amateur & Basic Cooking Classes to Professional Chef Training & Degrees -  Associates, Bachelors & Masters - More than 1,000 schools & classes listed for all 50 States, Online and Worldwide


FREE Magazines
and other Publications

An extensive selection of free magazines and other publications

Anticancer: A New Way of Life


by David Servan-Schreiber

A radical synthesis of science and personal experience that advocates a sea change in the way we understand and confront cancer

When David Servan- Schreiber, a dedicated scientist and doctor, was diagnosed with brain cancer, it changed his life. Confronting what medicine knows about the illness, the little known workings of the body’s natural cancer-fighting capacities, and his own will to live, Servan-Schreiber found himself on a fifteen-year journey from disease and relapse into scientific exploration, and finally to health. Combining memoir with a clear explanation of what makes cancer cells thrive and what inhibits them, and describing both conventional and alternative ways to slow and prevent cancer, Anticancer is revolutionary in its clarity. It is a moving story of a doctor’s inner and outer search for healing; radical in its discussion of the environment, lifestyle, and trauma; and inspiring and cautionary in its certainty that cancer cells lie dormant in all of us—and we all must care for the “terrain” in which they exist.

Anticancer takes us on a serious journey and, ultimately, an empowering one. In the tradition of Michael Pollan, John Kabat- Zinn, Barbara Kingsolver, and Andrew Weil, Anticancer genuinely guides us to “a new way of life.”

What a fantastic book.
David Servan-Schreiber is able to connect with a cancer patient/reader by being empathetic and informative at the same time. While he's realistic about the cancer odds, he's able to point out the bright side.
He takes all the cancer research that's out there.. and put it into plain and understandable text.
I HIGHLY recommend this book for anyone who has cancer or wants to prevent it.
EMR Mommy, Goodyear, Arizona (

About the Author
David Servan-Schreiber, MD , PhD, is a clinical professor of psychiatry at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine and cofounder of the Center for Integrative Medicine. He is a founding member of the organization Doctors Without Borders and continues to work in international crisis intervention.


  Home   |   About & Contact   |   Food History Articles   |   Interviews   |   Cooking Contests   |   Other Links  

Please feel free to link to any pages of from your website.
For permission to use any of this content please E-mail:
All contents are copyright © 1990 - 2015 James T. Ehler and unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved.
You may copy and use portions of this website for non-commercial, personal use only.
Any other use of these materials without prior written authorization is not very nice and violates the copyright.
Please take the time to request permission. Logo



Popular Pages